Skip to content

Boogie Nights: LA Style

July 24, 2010

Ally: Baby had an extra long afternoon nap today which meant our plans to see LA roller skate in the Pride Parade were kaput. Thankfully, I count her hubby as a dear friend and he came through with a photo that I could share with you lot. Here we have LA looking ridiculously hot and fabulous in roller derby attire.

You know what it reminds me of?

I LOVE that song! Yah, I guess it’s going to take a lot more to get me off the crap music. In fairness, it makes me more endearing….non?

Congrats, LA. You might be the hottest co-blogger in the history of co-bloggers.

L-A: I was going for this as opposed Mariah Carey:

No one tells you how hard roller skating is. I have a blister on one of my feet and my legs are cramping up like nobody’s business. Having said that, it was crazy fun and I still kind of want to roller derby. Who’s with me?

Anyway, Happy Pride Halifax!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2010 6:59 pm

    This is my favourite thing of all favourite things!!! Love you L-A!!! You look fabulous!

    • allygarbs permalink*
      July 24, 2010 7:43 pm

      Doesn’t she look amazing! I love it!

    • L-A permalink*
      July 24, 2010 9:26 pm

      I wonder if this makes up for not doing the Dress Like Heathers Challenge (yet).

  2. July 24, 2010 11:54 pm

    Fantastic! And I love both Whip It and that Mariah Carey video.

  3. Susan permalink
    July 25, 2010 3:27 pm

    Hey L-A – you rocked! (and rolled too I guess). You found those skates so quickly it was all clearly meant to be.

    OK – I have some stupid questions, but I know you tolerate these being my office-roomie.

    So, I have an evening wedding to go to late in August and am wondering if The Little Black Dress is appropriate or is one expected to wear a cheerier colour to weddings, even evening ones. I suspect the morbidity associated with black in my youth is long gone, but I want to double-check.

    Also, what is the going price range for a gift these days? I’m soooo out of the wedding loop.

    I’m so glad I have you guys to turn to – you’re a valuable service organization. You should put up signs at the edge of the city like the Lions do or the Rotary Club.

    Thanks!

  4. Ivy permalink
    July 25, 2010 8:48 pm

    L-A, I saw you but didn’t realize it was you. Great job out there – especially wearing tights and arm-warmers in 40˚C heat.

    • L-A permalink*
      July 26, 2010 10:06 am

      Thanks! The arm warmers actually came in handy since the heat meant a lot of sweating, so I could just use them as a sweatband sort of deal (kind of gross to talk about, but there was no avoiding sweating in that heat). I made the arm warmers out of socks. The tights, however, were just too warm (but probably better than if I wore leggings).

  5. August 4, 2010 12:33 pm

    Soooooo I’m guessing you know about the Halifax roller derby meeting tomorrow evening then?

    • L-A permalink*
      August 4, 2010 12:56 pm

      I do not! Tell me more!

  6. August 4, 2010 2:16 pm

    Here’s the facebook event linky, hope it works!
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Roller-derby/103095839731323?ref=ts#!/event.php?eid=113710425348271

    • L-A permalink*
      August 4, 2010 5:41 pm

      it worked! So exciting – I am going to try to make it to that meeting. Roller derby!

Trackbacks

  1. Frenchys Lust: July Edition – Part One « Fashionable People, Questionable Things
  2. Halifax’s Oval is a reason to look cute in winter « Fashionable People, Questionable Things

Leave a Reply

